***Welcome to Fluid Dynamics Research Lab***

Fluid Dynamics Research Lab
Department of Mathematics
Indian Institute of Technology Ropar
Punjab - 140001, India

Dr. Manoranjan Mishra
Department of Mathematics
Indian Institute of Technology Ropar
Nangal Road, Rupnagar-140 001, Punjab, India.
Phone: +91-1881-24-2158 (Office)
Fax: +91-1881-22-3395 (Office)
Email: manoranjan [at] iitrpr [dot] ac [dot] in


  • Doctor of Philosophy (Ph. D.): 2004, Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, India.
  • Master of Science (M.Sc): 1996, Berhampur University, Orissa, India.
  • Bachelor of Science (B.Sc): 1994, Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, India.

Research Experience

  1. Visiting Professor at PMMH, ESPCI, Paris Tech, France, 24th November - 23rd December 2014.
  2. Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematics, IIT Ropar, February 2010 - onwards
  3. Research fellow of FNRS (Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique, Belgium) University Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, December 2008- February 2010
  4. Research Fellow of Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH), at Institute of Fluid Mechanics, University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany, September 2007 – November 2008
  5. Postdoctoral research fellow at University Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, March 2006 at August 2007
  6. Postdoctoral research fellow at INLN, University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, Nice, France, March 2005 at February 2006
  7. NBHM Postdoctoral research fellow in Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India, August 2004 – February 2005


  1. Professor Anne De Wit, University Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium
  2. Professor Michel Martin, PMMH-ESPCI, Paris, France
  3. Professor Andre Thess, Ilmenau University of Technology, Ilmenau, Germany
  4. Professor A. Delgado, LSTM-Erlangen, Germany
  5. Professor F. Durst, LSTM-Erlangen, Germany
  6. Professor Philippe Maissa, Laboratoire J. A. Dieudonne, University of Nice, Nice, France
  7. Professor A. Ramachandra Rao, IISc, Bangalore, India
  8. Professor Yuichro Nagatsu, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan
  9. Dr. O. Ertunc, LSTM-Erlangen, Germany
  10. Dr. P. M. J. Trevelyan, University of Glamorgan, United Kingdom
  11. Dr. K. C. Sahu, IIT Hyderabad, India                 

Membership of Professional Bodies

  1. Member of European Mechanics Society (EUROMECH)

  2. Member of American Physical Society (APS)

  3. Member of American Physical Society’s Division of Fluid Dynamics (APS-DFD)

  4. Member of Indian Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics (ISTAM)

Indian Institute of Technology Ropar Department of Mathematics
Nangal Road, Rupnagar - 140001, Punjab, India