Hydrodynamic stability : Theory, Computation and Application
Date: 11 Dec - 15 Dec, 2017
Venue: IIT Ropar

Faculty Member


Prof. Prabir Daripa

Professor of Fluid Mechanics
Texas A & M University
College Station, Texas, USA

Professor Prabir Daripa received his B.Tech. In Mechanical Engineering at IIT Kharagpur in 1978 and subsequently got his graduate education at Brown University, USA and received his M.S. in Engineering in 1982, M.S. in Applied Mathematics 1983 and Ph.D. in Fluid Mechanics in 1985. He held a post-doctoral position at Courant Institute in New York University. He joined the Mathematics Department at Texas A&M University in 1987. He is a member of editorial boards of nineteen journals including Advances in Mathematical Physics and International Journal of Mathematics and Mathematical Sciences. His primary areas of current research are Fluid Mechanics and Computational Mathematics. He has over 110 journal publications and given well over 160 talks in many countries of which over 85 are invited and plenary talks.

Faculty Member


Dr. Manoranjan Mishra

Associate Professor
Indian Institute of Technology Ropar
Rupnagar, Punjab, INDIA

Dr. Manoranjan Mishra is an Associate Professor of Indian Institute of Technology, Ropar. He has obtained his doctoral degree from Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore in 2004. He has been a recipient of Humboldt fellowship of Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (AvH), Germany FRS-FNRS fellowship from Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique, Belgium in and Post doctoral fellowship at INLN, University of Nicesophia, Antipolis, France. He received the JSPS invitation fellowship in 2015. He has over 35 journal publications and over 50 conference presentations at various international conferences. His primary research interest is in Fluid mechanics.


  • Module - 1: Introduction, Fixed point and Bifurcation theory.
  • Module - 2: Rayleigh Bénard instability and parallel flows.
  • Module - 3: Instabilities in porous media flows, safmann Taylor instability, applications.

Registration fees

Faculty Participants
Rs. 6000/-
Government Research Organization Participants
Rs. 10,000/-
Industry Participants
Rs. 20,000/-
Rs. 2000/-

The fee include all instructional materials, computer use for tutorials and assignments, laboratory equipment usage charges, 24 hr free internet facility.

Mode of Registration

  • STEP – 1: One-time web-registration at GIAN portal ( through a non-refundable payment of Rs. 500/-(one-time). [A copy of enrolment form to be sent to course coordinator].The last date of enrolment is November 10, 2017.
  • STEP – 2: Course Registration The shortlisted candidates will be informed by email. They need to make full payment of the course registration fee.
    • either by NEFT (Account holder name: The Registrar, IIT Ropar; Account no: 30836125653; IFSC Code: SBIN0013181; Bank: SBI; Branch Name: IIT Ropar).
    • or by sending a demand draft in favour of “Registrar, IIT Ropar” payable at Rupnagar-140001, Punjab before the last date of registration. Email the copy of demand draft and registration form to the course coordinator.